'Sound Houses' is an album that sees Walls exploring the sonic archive of the late Daphne Oram - composer, inventor and founder of the BBC Radiophonic Workshop. 

Oram's otherworldly sonic experiments with synthesis and music concrete primarily in the 1960s were decades ahead of their time, her musical legacy unjustly overlooked until recent years when the increasing fascination of modern culture with all things analogue has cemented her status internationally as a pioneer and key figure in the development of electronic music and the recording studio. 

Anglo / italian electronic duo Walls were permitted to select choice recordings from Daphne's volumous tape archive of sounds following a commission from the BBC - these fearsome otherworldly drones, alien FX and violin and cello-esque tones were harnessed, shaped and sculpted into new forms, with additional augmentation from new and old technologies, including '60s drum machine, modular synth, violin, found sound and treated voice, all processed though various pedals, and effects processing to create unique new pieces of music that join the dots between 1960 and 2014. 

The resulting whole has been mastered by Spacemen 3 / Spectrum's Sonic Boom at New Atlantis studios. 


A1    Extremely Long Corridor    3:47

A2    Orchards And Gardens    4:51

A3    A Very Large Metal Box    2:13

A4    Rendering The Voice I    1:50

A5    Strange Lines, And Distances    4:21

B1    Reflexions, Refractions, And Multiplications    5:01

B2    Some Shriller, And Some Deeper    4:23

B3    Rendering The Voice II    1:41

B4    Reflecting The Voice    1:43

B5    As It Is In Gems, And Prisms    6:18